site advertisement

Natural Disaster Declared LGAs now reaches 29

NSW Nationals

Commonwealth-State disaster assistance is now available for an additional six LGAs following the severe weather and flooding.

A full list of all 29 LGAs now declared as natural disaster zones can be found below.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangement (DRFA).

If the eligibility criteria is met, assistance may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring; damaged essential roads and public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations, and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

NSW Nationals member, Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke MP said that significant recovery support would be required to help support communities to get back on their feet.

“Declaring a natural disaster is an essential first step towards getting a range of support out the door and in the pockets of individuals, families, farmers and business owners,” Ms Cooke said.

“The scale of this flooding event is enormous and we will continue working closely with the Commonwealth to put resources into the response phase as well as the recovery and clean-up effort.”

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact Service NSW on 13 77 88.

To apply for a concessional loan, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the National Recovery and Resilience Agency’s website at


LGA’s Currently designated as Natural Disaster Zones

Bayside, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Canterbury Bankstown, Campbelltown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Dungog, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Kiama, Lake Macquarie, Lithgow, Liverpool, Maitland, Northern Beaches, Penrith, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Sutherland, The Hills, Upper Lachlan,  Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong,

Open Article

The content above from the originating party/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature and edited for style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the original author(s). View original. Disclaimer

Have Your Say

We acknowledge and pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia

Disclaimer | Contact Us | AusPol Forum
All rights are owned by their respective owners
Terms & Conditions of Use